Today we skipped the second annual morning run to get a little extra sleep. We ate breakfast and put on our poopy pants (our designated pants for working in manure).
We planted about 200 more tomatoes. Mamma mia. After getting great sports bra tan lines and building our biceps with the gardening tools (no, gardening is NOT for sissys) we threw in the towel for the day.
Today we skipped the grande pasta italiano feast for a "lighter" lunch. At lunch we asked Cinzia about the lake that we wanted to bike to. We were excited to bike and cool off in the lake, but she told us someone died in it and its too dangerous to swim in. How a lake could be dangerous? We don't know. She drew out a map for us to get to the lake consisting of squiggly lines and wished us luck. We went off on our journey to find the lake that we couldn't swim in. After about 5 miles of biking, our legs couldn't take it any more. The lake was at the top of a hill a couple more miles awat and at that point we didn't think we would be able to make it. So we turned around in order to have enough energy for the five miles back. It wasn't until we turned around and didn't have to pedal at all that we realized that we had been going up hill the whole time. Bene. I guess we will never know why the lake is so dangerous.
When we got back to the B and B, Cinzia saw us sweating and aching and she just laughed at us (in a friendly way). She told us that tomorrow she would drive us to the lake we can't swim in. Is it because of pirahnas? Sharks? Toxic water? Answer to come.
The rest of the day we got our tan on and relaxed. A few guests checked in and we helped prepare the room for them.
We eagerly waited for dinner and tried to distract ourselves knowing we would have to wait until 9. Christine got corn rows and we discussed the importance of having friends to not become obese. Still didn't help our hunger situation. Yesterday Cinzia's friends were laughing at the fact that Americans eat at 6. Ha Ha.
After being stuffed with bread and rice and the tiny piece of proscioutto I haddd to try (again, sorry mom) Cinzia's mother force fed me nutella. How horrible!
After today, we are down one less companion. Earlier, we came into the room to find Angela's sleeping bag in the exact formation of a human body. Thinking maybe she was napping in it, we tried to be quiet, while trying to figure out if it was actually her. Of course we had a laughing fit that lasted about five minutes. It ended when Christine came up with the only feasable solution: lift up the sleeping bag. And that she did. Although Angela was not in her sleeping bag, she was standing outside the bedroom door watching. Oops. At dinner there was no eye contact made and no communication whatsoever. Don't worry, Christine plans on confronting her by saying there was a bug on her sleeping bag that she was trying to get rid of. Hope it works.
Sonno stanco. (Look it up).
Arrieverdeci (say in a southern accent, like Brad Pitt).
-J and C
Wednesday, May 26, 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment